Posted in book review

My Heart and Other Blackholes

My Heart and Other Black Holes

Title: My Heart and Other Black Holes

Author: Jasmine Warga

Published: February 10th 2015

Publisher: HarperCollins/Balzer + Bray

Format: Hardcover

Page Count: 302 pages 

More info: Amazon and etc.

Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness.

There’s only one problem: she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel’s convinced she’s found her solution: a teen boy with the username FrozenRobot (aka Roman) who’s haunted by a family tragedy is looking for a partner.

Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other’s broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together. Except that Roman may not be so easy to convince.

Image result for add to goodreads

 

 INITIAL THOUGHTS: I have been eyeing this book in my shelf for months now but I was never prepared to pick it up for some reason and now has come the time that I did. This book kinda reminds me of An Abundance of Katherines, just because of a nerd-ish character that’s about to fall in love with a non-nerd character. But let’s see how this goes!

THOUGHTS: I WAS ABSOLUTELY ENGROSSED WHILE READING THIS PIECE OF MASTERY! Yes, I have been in those dark times where I doubted I had any reason to live, this book was a perfect representation of how I felt. The black slug is real people! Depression and suicidal are very heavy matters to deal with or talk about and I like how this book projected the possible solution to those who are experiencing both of those right this very moment. You are not alone, seek help, find a reason to keep holding on and live well!
The characters were very true to themselves (like Roman being blunt about things) and it just shows that not only those who look sad and lonely are affected by the black slug but also every other normal teenager (even hot jocks, yes). Oh, Captain Nemo really broke the ice. I love that little turtle. The main characters also had very well thought of flashbacks and backstories.
The writing style was as flawless as it could be, I was never bored or anything. I was literally crying when the ending was near. I cried my eyes out and cried some more. How could a book even do that? Crying a river was the least of my worries because the book really killed me. The plot had a lot of twist and turns and I even find myself lost in it a few times while I was reading. Prefect definition for getting lost in a good book.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

This book is one of a kind and it has filled up my heart and other black holes in the universe. BEST CONTEMPORARY ABOUT MENTAL ILLNESS SO FAR!

Plot – 25%

Characterization – 25%

Writing Style – 20%

Book Cover Relevance – 5%

Feels – 15%

Shareability – 10%

TOTAL – 100%

           JUST READ IT WILL YOU? SO WE CAN CRY IN RIVERS TOGETHER!

4 thoughts on “My Heart and Other Blackholes

  1. I’ve heard of this book a lot but never actually figured out what it was about. This plot sounds like it could destroy all my feelings. And a 100% rating?? I’ll definitely have to check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

