Posted in book review

Book Review: Before A Million Universes

Before A Million Universes

Before a Million Universes

Author: T.W.R. Shelton

Format: Paperback (review copy)

Date Read: June 4, 2016

Date Finished: June 9, 2016

DISCLAIMER: EVEN THOUGH THIS BOOK WAS SENT TO ME BY THE AUTHOR FOR REVIEW, MY OPINIONS AND THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK WAS NOT IN ANY WAY BIASED OR MANIPULATED.

SYPNOSIS.

Winged creatures are falling from the sky.
Untruths are surfacing.
A city is dying.
Seventeen-year-old Maxwell Odyssey never wanted to save the world.
Now she has no choice.

CHARACTERS. Let me first point out that my family is a big Christian and so am I. When this book talked about religion and questioned God’s existence, I kind of felt uncomfortable. But let’s skip that and pretend that never happened. The characters are indeed rounded and well developed. We follow Maxwell Odyssey as she comes to terms with her past and accepts responsibility in leading the rebellion against the angels. I really wished I had my own Bear (Theodore Mitchell) because he is such a supportive and loving persona to Max and I would keep him if I could.

PLOT. I was intrigued with the concept of falling angels and the connection between them and humans. It changes between the present, where we get Max’s story, and the past where we get to experience the relationship of Max’s parents, which gives us definitely more insight on the story plus we’re more able to see the bigger picture. It was also interesting how Shelton talked about the pain the angels felt in human form because of the struggles that humans go through. Putting that into thought and perspective was thoughtful and I loved being able to see humans through an angel’s eyes. But I wouldn’t say this book delivered the totality of what I expected.

WRITING STYLE. The writing style is unfamiliar with a bag full of mystery. I’m a huge fantasy reader so it was hard for me to be impressed unlike in contemporaries. I like that everything was very detailed but I feel like there were some parts that could have been removed since they just seemed to appear like fillers. It was kinda hard to get into at first but after a while, I did enjoy it! The ending killed me, so much sacrifices! I felt like crawling in a hole to hide my feels.

FINAL VERDICT. Not as impressed as I expected I was to be but for a first time writer this is more than passable! Definitely a decent read if you’re looking for something supernatural with angels. Do not expect too much. Totally different from The Mortal Instruments. (I am in love with the cover, it’s simply beautiful!) This book didn’t fit to my liking (maybe because I had too high of an expectation but it is very interesting).

 Star rating: 3 out of 5

tumblr_nkd7vpAsEx1t508x8o1_400

 

Leave a Reply

