Posted in book review

Book Review: The Trials of Apollo #1

THE TRIALS OF APOLLO: THE HIDDEN ORACLE

Author: Rick Riordan

Format: Hardcover

Date Read: May 24, 2016

Date Finished: May 28, 2016

SYPNOSIS. 

How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.

But Apollo has many enemies – gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.

CHARACTERS. Can we just take a moment to admire Rick Riordan… uh I mean Apollo for the astounding haikus every chapter? Okay, now that that’s given a moment, let’s discuss the characters. First of all, the main character Apollo did his job pretty well in this book and that job is to be a self-centered and self-loving sun god. At first, I found it very annoying and well, selfish. But overtime, I loved Apollo and all his menacing thoughts and comments. Uncle Rick did a pretty good job in all the characters as always! The mini appearance of Percy killed me! Especially when he called Annabeth, his girlfriend!  The fangirl in me is trying to break free!!! SOLANGELO! CALEO! PERCABETH! Okay, I’m gonna shut up about the character now because this might get spoiler-full.

PLOT. The plot was indeed well thought of and action-packed where it seemed anyone can understand where it’s going without being too predictable. There were lots of twists and turns, not to mention the betrayal, I’m talking about the Labyrinth of Daedalus (I’m making jokes yay). I especially liked Peaches (this should be included in the characters but oh well). The plot was flawless to me, if only I could tell you about the last part then this would have been longer but sadly I cannot!

WORLD-BUILDING. It’s the usual place, nothing special with the locations at all except for all Greek Mythology not being a myth after all. If you read Uncle Rick’s past books then you can probably visualize the world where the demigods live in perfectly. The world-building or whatever is awesome tho simple!

ROMANCE. I’m not even gonna discuss this, all you have to know is that THE SHIPS SOLANGELO, CALEO AND PERCABETH ARE ALL SAILING IN THIS BOOK! Also, be warned that you’ll get a glimpse on Apollo’s many lovers and affairs. I am so stressed, just read the book!

CONCLUSION. JUST READ IT! YOU WILL FALL INLOVE (YES, NO SPACE) WITH APOLLO! You can actually read it without reading the whole PJO franchise but if you read this first and proceed with the series you will get spoilers from this book! This is a must-have for all the PJO fans out there because Uncle Rick has done it again (but with a really hot sun god)! YOU’LL LOVE THE PUNS (THEY’RE SO PUNNY!)

Star rating: 5 out of 5

tumblr_nun60yNeQz1u9v968o1_500.gif

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Trials of Apollo #1

  1. I read the Percy Jackson series for the first time this January and I was never sure if I should pick another Rick Riordan because it might get repetitive. What do you say? Should I give it more time before picking any other of his books up?

    Like

    1. You’re not the only one! I thought that too at first because how far can author go with Greek Mythology? The answer is sooooooo far!!! I loved the Pjo series and HoO huhuhuhu the feels are real. I need more! Plus you’ll learn about Greek Mythology on the way that comes handy in class!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

