Posted in book review

Book Review: Milk and Honey

Author: Rupi Kaur

Date Read: May 7, 2016

Date Finished: May 7, 2016

          I have been wanting to read this book since I had it and now I had the chance. Well actually, I finished this book in one sitting since it was just full of poems and prose. How do I even start to review this book? It was a totally well made and insightful book of poems. I mean seriously, every single poem in there from the hurting to the healing will have you begging more of this emotional roller coaster ride.

It touched my soul and my sheer existence. The ideas were presented in such a poetic and straightforward way that you won’t have to scramble you brain to know the true meaning of the poems. I’m not kidding, you will feel the message inside you. Some of the lines were short and simple but had a huge and powerful impact like:

people go
but how 
they left
always stays

             This book was quite explicit and needs PG. But I did get the message and kinda felt an instant connection with the author. I was able to relate how she felt at times and that was a plus for me. The transitions were beautifully written too. And every part or little chapter of the book is like representing the parts of the author’s delicate heart. This book literally and figuratively completed my day. The book did make me tear up a bit especially in the breaking and the healing. And the part that made me angry was the hurting.

        It was such a good read I’m having a book hangover right now. I’m sorry for neglecting Gone to read Milk and Honey but it was worth it. This book will change your perspective on things, it will make you want to feel, cherish and love life. And it shows that someone who has been so broken, hurt and shattered can still heal. I recommend this to everyone!

Star rating: 5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

